New National Advisory Committee Members Poised to Help Advance Policy-Focused Research

Policies for Action is pleased to announce four new members of its national advisory committee. The eight-member committee is a carefully selected group of health and social sector experts that play a crucial role in shaping P4A’s policy research agenda and supporting the program’s outreach efforts to key policymakers and other stakeholders.

The four new members of the national advisory committee include:

  • Daniel E. Dawes, JD, a nationally recognized leader in the movement to advance health equity among underresourced, vulnerable, and marginalized communities.
  • Darrick Hamilton, PhD, a stratification economist whose work fuses social science methods to examine the causes, consequences, and remedies of racial and ethnic inequality in education, economic and health outcomes.
  • Rita Johnson-Mills, MS, MPA, the former chief executive officer of the UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Tennessee, a health plan serving more than 500,000 government sponsored health care consumers.
  • Karthick Ramakrishnan, PhD, a prolific author and academic whose research focuses on civic participation, immigration policy, and the politics of race, ethnicity, and immigration in the United States.

The four new members join an all-star team of experts who have helped to build Policies for Action from the ground up. Returning national advisory committee members include Diane Whitmore Schanzenbach, PhD (Chair), Jack Ebeler, MPA, David J. Erickson, MBA, and Jewel Mullen, MD, MPH, MPA. The full committee roster can be found here.

Policies for Action would also like to thank the four members who have completed their terms on the national advisory committee. Their contributions have been invaluable to the program, and we are incredibly grateful for their generous offers of time and expertise: Mark Duggan, PhD, Arnold Epstein, MD, MA, Anthony T. Lo Sasso, PhD, and Angela Evans, MA.